Cédric Pescia - Programmes

Sorry, not all programmes are available in English.

Programme suggestions 2016-18  
Variations from four Centuries  
Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643) Cento Partite sopra Passacagli (Aus: „Il primo libro di Toccate”, 1637)
Anton Webern (1883-1945) Variations op. 27
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 30 in E major op. 109
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) Goldberg Variations BWV 988
Schumann Phantasies  
Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Papillons op. 2
Heinz Holliger (*1939) „Elis“ - Drei Nachtstücke for piano
Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007) Tierkreis (extracts)
Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Fantasiestücke op. 12
György Kurtag (*1926) Extracts from „Játékok“
Robert Schumann (1810-1856) Fantasy in C major op. 17
Schubert in a minor  
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Sonata No. 4 in a minor D. 537
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Sonate No. 14 in a minor D. 784
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Sonate No. 16 in a minor D. 845
Beethoven’s Testament  
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 30 in E major op. 109
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 31 in A flat major op. 110
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 32 in c minor op. 111
J. S. Bach Cycle  
Each part can be performed as single recital as well.  
Part I The Art of the Fugue BWV 1080
Part II The Well-Tempered Clavier I BWV 846-869
Part III The Well-Tempered Clavier II BWV 870-893
Part IV Goldberg Variations BWV 988
Beethoven - Cage  
Two pianos are required; one  
will be prepared by Cédric Pescia.  
John Cage (1912-1992) In a landscape
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Extracts from the Bagatells alternating with
John Cage (1912-1992) Sonatas and Interludes for prepared piano
John Cage (1912-1992) Music for Toy Piano
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Sonata No. 32 in c minor op. 111
John Cage (1912-1992) 4'33''
Cage pure  
John Cage (1912-1992) Sonatas and Interludes for prepared piano
Piano for four hands  
Franz Schubert - The Year 1828  
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Rondo in A major D 951
  Allegro in a minor „Lebensstürme“ D 947
  Extracts from 3 Pieces for piano D 946 (Pescia)
  Impromptus op. 142 (Cassard)
Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Fantasy in f minor D 940
Cédric Pescia and Philippe Cassard  
present a concert in three parts  
with the late piano works of Franz  
Schubert, composed in the last year  
of his life 1828.  
Part I (ca. 80 min.)  
3 Piano Pieces D 946 (Cassard)  
Allegro in a minor „Lebensstürme“ D 947 (both)  
Sonata Nr. 19 in c minor D 958 (Pescia)  
Part II (ca. 45 min.)  
Rondo D 951 (both)  
Sonata No. 20 in A major D 959 (Cassard)  
Part III (ca. 60 min.)  
Fantasy in f minor D 940 (both)  
Sonata No. 21 in B flat major D 960 (Pescia)  

Cédric Pescia’s Score Library | A pianistic flip-book

Concept: Georg Nussbaumer

A professional pianist, though mostly performing by heart on stage, always possesses a large collection of scores, hundreds of booklets and loose papers in a never completed archive of pianistic literature. Famous masterpieces stand alongside quaint personal predilections. Some scores have been bought some day but never played, others remind the early piano lessons in the childhood.

It is the purpose of this programme to make the whole score library from A to Z - Cédric Pescia’s contains about 1.000 issues - sound in a kind of pianistic flip-book. The resulting piece is a colourful collage merging works from Albeniz, Bach, Bartok, Beethoven, Brahms etc. until the last one of the alphabet Wolf, Yun and Zimmermann. Some “rests” are added in the “coda”: Teaching material, opera scores, the pages shattered on and around the piano.

Georg Nussbaumer has elaborated exact rules for Cédric Pescia how to extract and reassemble the numerous paper shavings. Listen to a sounding, very personal score encyclopaedia which mixes well-known music with pianistic oddities in steady change of tempo, key and texture - a challenging but rewarding experience for our ears!